Real love isn’t so bad.

Posted: February 14, 2011 in Cool Stuff just for you

 

Yep, that’s us at our wedding almost 25 years ago.

by Rick Moyer

Love is not so bad. Almost 25 years ago we lit a unity candle at our wedding.  We were so young, and had no idea the things we would encounter.  If it wansn’t for choosing to love each other, we would have never stayed together.  

Isn’t life like that though?  Our parents try and prepare us for it, they give us advice and we only kind of “half” listen.  Then we get out into the world and begin to pay our own bills.  We have our own responsibilities and it isn’t nearly as easy as we thought it would be.  I mean, a few years on my own and I realized that I was the one that was stupid, not my parents!  My parents loved me.  Well, not only does love tell us the truth and try to help, but sometimes, it chooses to ignore our faults.

I think love is blind on purpose.  If we got slapped on the face with all the hard things in life right off the bat, well life wouldn’t be so fun.  Love covers a multitude of problems.  It can really set us up for success if we let it.  You see, love sooths our soul.  It causes us to look outside of ourselves to what, not only we can be, but what other can be as well.

Don’t buy into all the hype over Valentine’s day.  Even though it’s all about one day of candy, flowers, cards and romantic dinners, it really should be celebrated all year round.  And not just by couples.  Love should be celebrated by each and every one of us, every day.  One of the reasons there are so many problems in our lives and the world today is because our world is love deficient.  Instead of giving people grace, we pounce on them like a pack of wolves.  Then we make movies about it, read articles on the Internet and act all high and mighty because so and so got what was coming to them.  Our world thrives on gossip and seeing people beat down.  For some reason it makes us feel better about ourselves.  Well, it shouldn’t. 

What if for a moment, every person that read this newsletter decided to love a little more and despise a little less?  What if we looked around and instead of pointing a finger, we lent a hand?  What if instead of gossiping we decided to give that person the benefit of the doubt?  What if we celebrated someone around us instead of just tolerated them?  I wonder what kind of world we would live in?

A chapter in the Bible talks a bit about love, and I like how this is put–

If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate. If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing.

If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.

   Love never gives up.

   Love cares more for others than for self.

   Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.

   Love doesn’t strut,

   Doesn’t have a swelled head,

   Doesn’t force itself on others,

   Isn’t always “me first,”

   Doesn’t fly off the handle,

   Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,

   Doesn’t revel when others grovel,

   Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,

   Puts up with anything,

   Trusts God always,

   Always looks for the best,

   Never looks back,

   But keeps going to the end.

 Love never dies.

Love is a good way to live our lives.  It is healthy and helpful.  It is energizing and giving.  True love is rare, so why not be the one that truly loves?  Be someone most people aren’t.  Take a risk and dare to love God and others.  By doing that you not only love yourself, but you make a difference.  And isn’t that what it’s all about?  Making a difference and fulfilling the life we have been given?

I am grateful for those that love me in my life.  Mostly to God for putting up with me right where I am, and of course for my wife who I have no idea why she stays with me considering the crazy nutso person that I am.  I think those two are the best examples of love in my life.  My kids are cool too, and then of course my parents- they believe in me and I couldn’t ask for anything more than that.  I have the best friends from all around the world that a guy could have and I want to say thank you to all of you.  I love you.

Take a moment today to commit to loving more.  You won’t regret it.  Happy Valentine’s day. Live it.

Leave a Reply

