Through the eyes of Christmas

Posted: December 6, 2010 in Cool Stuff just for you

Through the eyes of Christmas
by Rick Moyer 

Why is it that this time of year evokes feelings of good will towards others? There are 11 other months during the year, but for some reason December gets the attention of just about everyone.  Maybe it’s the Salvation Army kettles with the bell ringers, or perhaps the ads on TV saying give to your local food bank.  Perhaps the awareness is peaked and people respond because of the Spirit of Christmas.

I used to work for a local charity that helped the homeless and was simply amazed at the giving in December.  It made up for the months like January and February where we squeaked by.  People would come out of the woodwork for a tax deduction, but I think it goes deeper than that.  It makes people feel good to give and help others.  There is something inside us that says it’s the right thing to do.

I think God created us that way.  One of the most popular verses in the Bible says “For God so loved the world that he GAVE his only begotten son…” (John 3:16)   It was set in motion at the beginning of time.  God is a giver.  He gives us life, he blesses us, he gives us opportunities to love others like He does.

The story of Christmas is all about giving.  That God would humble himself and come to Earth as a baby, grow up, bless people, show them the way and then be crucified on a cross for humanities salvation is the ultimate story of giving.  Why do you think people give gifts on Christmas?  It’s not by accident, it’s an example of the gift that God has given all of us if we only open it up and receive it.

 Since God is such a giver, I want to be like him.  Not for brownie points, not for notches on my Bible, not for people to pat me on the back, just because God is God and I want to be like Him. 

What if we really saw through the eyes of Christmas year round?  I try and make it a habit to take part of the money that I earn and give it away.  I keep an eye out for opportunities to show God’s love with no strings attached.  The other day I was at the grocery store and I saw a guy that was in a hurry in the check out line. I didn’t know him from Adam. He was right behind me.  He had a few items on the conveyor and kept looking at his watch.  I felt my insides tense up and felt led to just put his groceries on my bill.  So I did.  At first he just looked at me.  He was speechless, then said, “Really?” again he just kind of stood there.  Then he stammered a bit and said “Thank you!”  I smiled and said, God bless you! Have a Merry Christmas.  He left and the checker looked at me.  He asked me why I did that.  I quickly answered, well God has blessed me so I figure I need to bless others.  You never know what people are going through.   He smiled and shook his head.  It wasn’t much, but what both of those men experienced was God working though me.  God can work through any of us if we take the time to listen and be generous. 

Honestly, things are really tight this year, and I really can’t afford to buy people’s groceries.  Then again, in the way I look at it, I can’t afford NOT too.  If I honestly believe that God has blessed me, then how can I be selfish with what He has given me?  Sometimes I think we get the idea that if we don’t give to some big charity then we really aren’t making a difference.  Let me challenge you on that idea.  I am serious.  You can make a difference in the lives of your neighbors, co-workers or fellow students.  You don’t have to be rich.  And don’t get me wrong, but we don’t have any idea how the big charities spend the money.  But we know where our money goes when we do something for someone locally.   Can you afford a cup of coffee?  How about ten bucks?  A sub sandwich?  Can you buy an extra gift card and put $20 on it, put it in your wallet and wait for an opportunity to bless someone?  What about buying an extra turkey, some potatoes and giving it to the family down the street?  I bet they could use it.   Look around you.  I am willing to bet there is someone you know, that needs your help.  Do you think God is going to drop money or a coat or food out of the sky?  Nope, he is going to use YOU- If you listen.  Just the other day we discovered one of the neighborhood kids didn’t get any Christmas gifts last year.  Before I could even say anything to Amy, she had a few things picked out and it won’t happen that way this year.  We aren’t rich in money, but we are rich in Spirit, and guess what?  When you begin to plan to bless others, you get great deals.  If you truly have a desire to give, then God will make a way for you to do it. 

Did you know that statistics say that it’s not the rich people that give the most?  It’s us normal folks.  Yep.  The less money people make the more they give it away. I’m not completely sure why.  Perhaps we just know what it’s like to be without, so we don’t want others to experience that.  All I know is that the five or ten dollars that we help others out with might as well be a million for the homeless guy or gal.  The sandwich we buy for the hungry guy begging on the street feels like a million bucks to him.  It’s all in how you look at it.  The great part about giving is that no matter how much we have we can always give something.

So here is my challenge.  Look around you.  Give.  Then when January rolls around, give again.  Then when February gets here, give.. then when…..

You get the picture.

See life through the eyes of Christmas.  Let the gift keep on giving.  We have been blessed, so let us bless others.  Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

