The job is never over till you are done! Don’t give up!

Posted: November 8, 2010 in Cool Stuff just for you

Growing up out the East Hoquiam road, I watched my Mom and Dad work very hard to keep up the family farm.  Both of them worked full time jobs and then kept our 5 acre country place in shape.  We had animals like chickens, horses, cows, pigs, ducks and goats.  We had a couple of barns, a river running through our property and 4 yards to mow.  It wasn’t easy, and very often my parents would get home from work and start working the farm until it got dark. Our weekends were always filled with projects from mending fences, chopping wood and gardening to feeding the animals and filling the wood-box. The work was never done, there was always something more to be doing. 

 

 

 

One of the things my babysitter, Mrs. Whitlock, said to me when I was young has stuck with me all these years.  She said, “Ricky, the job’s never over till you are done”  As I grew up I saw exactly what she meant.  Watching my parents I learned the value of hard work and follow through.  It was never easy, but it was rewarding when we did.

 

I have been working very hard on my new music project.  It’s not the kind of work I did on the farm, but it is time consuming nonetheless.  This last week I finished all the tracks on the new CD and began the tedious process of “Mastering” the tracks.  Since this is a short story and a music project I have transitions between most of the songs that take the folks who listen on a journey.  You wouldn’t believe the amount of time it takes to make everything just perfect.  Not only do I have to record the music, but then I have to save it in the correct file format, upload it, assign a digital code to it, get a bar code and artwork, I have to market it!  No easy task I can assure you.

 

It is tempting to take short cuts, or to put it off till tomorrow, but then those words come back.  “The job is never over till you are done.”  It’s one of those things I’m glad I remember.  It has afforded me many exciting experiences in my life.  I have lived my dreams and done a lot already.  One of the reasons I have been able to work with people, see cool places and do interesting things is because I haven’t  given up.  Oh, and there will always be people that will encourage you to quit.  There are many of those people in the world.  Most of the time it’s because they don’t want the challenge of you succeeding.  It makes them look bad!  Our job is to not let them get to us.  No person determines your future.  Only God and you have the power to make the life you are supposed to have.

 

It’s tempting to give up, don’t get me wrong, but I just can’t.  My faith in Jesus is really the key.  I believe we are all here on this Earth with a purpose.  If we give up, we short change God and ourselves.  

 

I have watched so many people lose their dreams and waste their lives because they have given up.  DON’T LET THAT BE  YOU! Often times we are very close to finishing when we throw in the towel.  Let me encourage you to give it an extra push.  Press on just a little further and see your task, dream or project completed.  As soon as it is finished, then you can see clearly for the next accomplishment.

 

Living in the past will slow you down too.  So don’t live life by looking in the rear view mirror.  There is a reason it’s so small and the windshield is so big.  You can’t change the past, but we all can change our future by the choices we make today.  

 

Recently my friend Bryan competed in the Iron Man competition in Hawaii.  He trained all year for it.  Then a few days before the competition he injured his back.  You know what?  Instead of quitting, he competed anyway, and even though he didn’t finish where he would have, he kept at it until he crossed the finish line.  You know why?  Because the job is never over till you are done.  I marveled at his stamina and attitude.  That is how I want to live my life, and that is how I am going too.

 

What have you left undone in your life?  Is there a person you need to talk to?  Is there a  project that needs finishing?  A goal you have been putting off? Take a deep breath, pray, ask God for help and then finish it.  Make some steps today to at least head in that direction.  I guarantee you that you will not be sorry. 

 

 

Learn more about my new CD MW-ORBIT

 

by clicking here

Leave a Reply

