Thankful to be alive!

Posted: December 7, 2009 in Cool Stuff just for you

Had the wildest experience last night.


the kind of pellet stove that crashed.

So last night we are sleeping soundly when at 3 in the morning Amy and I both start smelling something.  She wakes up first to open the bedroom door to thick white smoke throughout our house!  I stumble out of bed in time to check on the kids and run to the door.  I didn’t know if we had a fire or if the pellet stove had malfunctioned somehow. 
 
It was the pellet stove.  It is 20+ years old and on it’s last leg.  Somehow it started sparking and sending thick smoke into the house.  I am glad that God woke us up otherwise in a few more minutes we would have been gonners. 
 
What a scarey feeling that was. 
 
Oh I guess I should mention that I bought two new smoke alarms today, since our old ones didn’t work.  Geez.
 
Now the clean up happens.  Had to start wiping down the walls, ceiling and cleaning the furniture and carpets.  We put baking soda on the carpets and couches, wiped down the counters with pine-sol  I’m going to Walmart to get some Fabreze.  I even put a pot of simmering water on the stove with cinnamon and spices to get some other type of smell in the rooms.   Also had to wash all of our bedding and clothes.  It still smells though.  ugh.  Oh well, at least we are alive and everyone is safe.
 
I refuse to use the pellet stove again.  We don’t have any extra money right now, otherwise I would go and buy a propane heater for the house.  I stopped by Propane Etc.  They have some nice stoves, but out of my price range right now.   So it is back to using some oil radiator heaters. We’ll see if that will heat the house sufficiently.  I won’t know how much that adds to the heat bill till I see it. 
 
In the meantime I am grateful to be alive and that my family is safe.  Phew.  Praise God for protecting us.
 
The moral, don’t let smoke get in your eyes. 
Comments
  1. Darrell says:

    Wow. Glad you are all ok! Our washer’s fire was contained within its shell, but the place still smells like burned washer guts.

  2. Buddy VanBrunt says:

    My smoke alarms get tested regularly… every time one of my teenagers cooks something 🙂

  3. Alicia says:

    If your house is still smelling smokey let me know my hubby works in this area and has some stuff to get the smell out.

  4. Amy Moyer says:

    The smoke hurts your throat too. I remember laying in bed trying to get warm when it was 22 degrees out with all the doors and windows open coughing and throat burning. Glad we lived through it though. Thank You Jesus.

  5. Eva To says:

    Rick and Amy , I just wrote you a note but I dont think it got to you as I did not leave my email, Im so sorry to hear about the smoke, but so happy your all ok!! I miss your family, I am working at My Sister Bakery Mon- Fri till 1:30, Please stop bye and visit me, come and have tea or a sweet! I keep up with you on Facebook,too! Rick,could you pray for Ed Gelovich his cancer has returned. Please continue to pray for my family, Thank you ! I hope you all have a Blessed holiday season! I hope you find some kind of heat,what a time to happen! Let me know if you ever need anything! Love your friend Eva To

  6. Sharon says:

    Rick and Amy, So thankful that you guys are okay. Jim and I just put in a new heating system, it’s a ductless heating and air conditioning. It’s the poor man’s heat pump. the total cost was $3,800. The PUD paid $1,500 of the $3,800 plus we get $1,100 write off on income tax. It’s really nice. Avaerage cost for use for 1 year, $165.00! It’s really cool and can’t wait to see what air condotioning is like in the summer. We would be more than happy to show you guys.

  7. Pauletta says:

    Wow.. I am so sorry to hear that this happened to you guys… Praise God you are all safe and you got out in time.. Thank God..
    I hope things get better and easier for you guys soon I will keep you in my prayers..
    Pauletta

  8. Tim W. says:

    Oh geez, glad to hear your OK Rick! Our pellet stove doesn’t work period (never worked) I’m beginning to think they are more trouble than they are worth.

    Glad to hear everyone is safe and may God continue to bless and protect you Rick and family.

    Tim

Leave a Reply

