The three types of sales people

Posted: September 13, 2009 in Cool Stuff just for you
Tags: , , , , ,
Ever since I was a kid I have loved to talk. I’m sure those of you that know me personally don’t find that surprising! As a result I have been M.C. for events, given many speeches, sermons, presentations and more. I also tried my hand at retail sales. Back in my High School and College years I worked at J.C. Penney, in the electronics department. I sold stereos, Walkmen, televisions and a brand new consumer product called the video tape recorder. Yeah, I know this dates me. I made a lot of money back in the day because I LOVED stereos. I still do. I would simply crank the volume knob and people would hand me their credit cards. I loved the commissions I made.
 
I found, over the years, that there are three kinds of sales people. The first are clueless. They are simply there to fill a spot. They don’t know their product and aren’t of any help except to run your credit card and hand you the merchandise. The second are the high pressure folks who are only there to make money to benefit themselves. They don’t care about repeat business and have no interest whatsoever in the well being of the customer. The sale is the only thing that counts. Then the third type are those that really know their product. They are a delight to work for because the product they are selling literally sells itself. This salesperson simply enhances the whole experience because of their customer service and care. They get repeat customers and many referrals.
 
I thought about this in comparison to how God is presented in our culture. It is my opinion that Jesus doesn’t need the first two sales people. We have all experienced them haven’t we? The first person doesn’t know anything about God other than the fact that they are supposed to talk about him or something. The second beat people over the head with their big black Bibles and literally try to “scare the hell” out of them. They picket, scream and yell and act like they aren’t very happy.
 
I think God needs more people like the third kind. The third are pretty amazing people. They are the kind that I want to be. They know Jesus personally. They know all about him and they do their best to simply love the people around them. They are really genuinely interested in the well being of others and make every effort to be helpful and responsible.
 
Can you imagine if everyone that claimed to “be God’s people” would act that way? I guess then Christians wouldn’t have the reputation of used car salesmen.
 
All that to say this- Let’s live for Christ in the way we act. Let’s be kind to people and listen. Let’s only speak when we have to, otherwise let’s show people we love them by your actions.
 
I love this phrase from St. Francis of Assisi-
“Preach the Gospel at all times and when necessary use words.”
Leave a Reply

