Spread your wings and fly-

Posted: August 25, 2009 in Cool Stuff just for you

 

The time has come.  Over 19 years ago on a snowy day my son Nathan was born at Community Hospital in Aberdeen WA.  We were listening to some music I created on piano and amazed at God’s grace and love for us by giving us a son. 

I remember vividly carrying  him to the nursery for his first bath and to be measured and weighed.  As soon as the nurse took him I turned toward my mom, who was watching through the window in the hospital hall and teared up.  I went and gave her a hug and thanked her for giving me life.  Wow, I had no idea what she had gone through.

But as with all children, Nathan grew up.  Through the years I have watched him come alive with creativity and talent.  I have loved him, I have disciplined him, I have cared for him, laughed with him, cried with him, held him and I have let him go.  All Amy and I could do we did.  We certainly weren’t perfect, but we were aware of his dreams and passions- and we have loved him.

He amazed me at how smart he was.  He was able to pick up on things at an early age, he is a communicator.  When he went to Grays Harbor College he blew me away with his grades and his English skills.  I was so happy that he graduated from high school with his college AA degree, something I wished I could have done. 

It has been a very hard few years for our family.  Things have changed so much, and mostly things that were out of our control.  We have gone through some hurt, but it hasn’t kept us down. 

So now our first born embarks on indendence in a new way.  He leaves in a few hours to George Fox University in Oregon where he will get his bachelor’s degree in Cinematography and Film (something like that)  Today we finally got all his loan paperwork figured out and everything is covered for his first year.  He now gets to live the dream of learning all that he can to communicate the things he sees in his head to the world around him. 

Letting go isn’t easy, but at the same time it is a natural progression of God’s love for us.  We love Nathan very much, but it is time for him to find his way on his own.  We will always be here to support him in anyway we are able, but it will never be the same again.  We can give advice when asked, but we have to trust that everything we have taught him comes out in some way or another in the way he lives.  He is his own person and will do very well with whatever he puts his hands too. 

Now the trust factor comes into play.  Nathan was never ours to begin with.  He belongs to God.  We were entrusted with his life for a very short time in the spectrum of life.  We did our best, now we trust that God will take care of him.  Jesus has had his hand on Nathan’s life from the very beginning and I am convinced that He will be with him all through the rest of life too. 

I am thankful for the years that I got to spend with him and look forward to what he will do in the future.  I am excited to be a father in law and someday a grandfather.  Mostly I am just blessed to be Nathan’s dad. 

Nathan if  you read this-  go for it.  Be who you are my son, never stop being the person God made you to be.  You are one of the most creative, fun and loving people I know.  I am proud of you and love you.  Have the time of your life and serve God with a passion.

I love you.  Spread your wings and fly.

 

Love,

Dad

Leave a Reply

