changes

 

I recently picked up my copy of “Who moved my cheese? by Spencer Johnson M.D.  I took it with me to lunch and read it all by myself.  It was great.  It made me realize how much I have a hard time handling change.  How do you handle it?

Basically we can either ignore change and whine about what is going on in our life, or we can embrace it and deal with it.  How we handle change is almost more important than the change itself. 

Change always happens. But we don’t always deal with it too well. 

In the book there are two sets of characters, some mice and some little humans.  The mice and humans come to their cheese station one day to see that no more cheese is there.  The mice, although upset, get their shoes on and go searching for new cheese.  The humans on the other hand over analyze the situation and sit in an empty room hoping for the cheese to come back.  They grow bitter and refuse to look for new cheese.  As the book progresses, we see some very interesting things happen.  Although it is a made up story it could be the story of my life when change hits me.  Sometimes I do well with change, while other times I don’t.  The longer I have been involved with my cheese, the harder it is to go look for new cheese when my source dries up.  

Can you relate?  Well, the mice had a cool little saying when they would run out of cheese.  They would say “Maze time!”  in other words, it was time to pick themselves up and quit worrying about why everything happened and simply go searching through the maze for new cheese. 

I think we as human beings can spend way to much time wondering where we went wrong, and although it is important to review our mistakes, we can often times over analyze our situation. 

In one of my favorite Star Trek episodes, “Peak Performance” Data, the android officer on the Enterprise is beaten in a computer game called “Stratogama”  He is beaten by a humanoid competitor.  He then relieves himself from duty thinking that since he did not win that he is broken in some way.  Many of the crew come to him and try and talk him back into coming back to work.  But he refuses until his Captain Picard comes in and says the following words.  “Commander, it is possible to commit no mistakes — and still lose.  That is not a weakness that is life.”

You see many times in life we go through tough stuff where our cheese is removed and many times it isn’t our fault.  We are wrong when we spend so much time dwelling on the why of the event instead of moving on to the new cheese.  

Let it go.  That is my own advice.  Let it go.  Let go, get your tennis shoes on and start searching for new cheese.  You will feel so much better!

I highly recommend reading or listening to the little book “Who moved my cheese?” by Spencer Johnson M.D.

The whole book reminds me of a wonderful scripture:
Philippians 3:14

Focused on the Goal  12-14I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.

Comments
  1. adam kelm says:

    like the dream I had……let go of what went wrong and focus on loving people…..

Leave a Reply

