Genesis 11 & 12- obey or stay.

Posted: January 19, 2009 in Cool Stuff just for you

I heard a message yesterday that simply blew me away.  It was most definitely from God.- by that I mean the timing was just too coincidental to be random.    At least it spoke to me.

Genesis 11
27 This is the genealogy of Terah: Terah begot Abram, Nahor, and Haran. Haran begot Lot. 28 And Haran died before his father Terah in his native land, in Ur of the Chaldeans. 29 Then Abram and Nahor took wives: the name of Abram’s wife was Sarai, and the name of Nahor’s wife, Milcah, the daughter of Haran the father of Milcah and the father of Iscah. 30 But Sarai was barren; she had no child.
31 And Terah took his son Abram and his grandson Lot, the son of Haran, and his daughter-in-law Sarai, his son Abram’s wife, and they went out with them from Ur of the Chaldeans to go to the land of Canaan; and they came to Haran and dwelt there. 32 So the days of Terah were two hundred and five years, and Terah died in Haran.

I listened as a friend of mine read from chapter 11 and 12 of Genesis.  It’s the part where we find out about Abraham’s family.  We find that Terah was his dad and he had two brothers.  I could go into a long disertation here, but I won’t.  Suffice it to say, a lot of stuff happens from the end of 11 and the very beginning of 12.  Boiling it down we see that the Dad, Terah, set out for the promise land and along the way stopped short of it.  It caused his kids to not have the opportunities for success, it was selfish of him and all sorts of other things I could say right here.  Terah never entered the promise land, he stopped short of it, then at the age of around 75, God spoke to Abram and said this:

1 Now the LORD had said to Abram:

“Get out of your country,
From your family
And from your father’s house,
To a land that I will show you.

b472f7e0

Abram actual obeyed the Lord, even though it was very uncomfortable for him.  He had to leave the familiar in order to find the promise of God.

2 I will make you a great nation;
I will bless you
And make your name great;
And you shall be a blessing.

What I got from this was that when we follow after God we run into a blessing.  When we don’t we are stressed and strained.  I am personally looking forward to the blessings the Lord has for my family.  Our whole purpose in life is to preach the Gospel and to love on people.  If we can do this with the love of God in our hearts then we have achieved God’s purpose.  It all starts thought with being obedient to the calling upon our lives.

3 I will bless those who bless you,
And I will curse him who curses you;
And in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.”

I’m not saying that I am Abram, please don’t misunderstand me here.  I am saying though that Abram is a great example of a man that could have stayed in the comfortable, could have settled for second best, but he would have never gone on to be the father of many nations.  I want to be all that God has called me to be.  How about you?  I think not only will it be a blessing to me, but to my family, and those people that my life touches.

Is there a ministry you are supposed to help with?  Something maybe you should start?  There are many opportunities if we are open to change.

So where are you at?  Are you obeying the voice of God in your life?  Are there things that are stopping you up from entering  your promise land?  If so, join me and make a declaration with God.  I WILL GO WHERE YOU SEND ME AND DO WHAT YOU TELL ME!

That is a good prayer no matter where we are at.

Comments
  1. tytanshammer says:

    Haran was also the name of Terah’s son………Terah couldn’t go forward because he couldn’t get over the tragedy of what happened in the past to his boy. Lot’s wife was the same way……..turned into a pillar of salt looking back at what was.

    Larry Randolph’s line sticks in my head: “Have the courage to leave ground zero.”

  2. carlieanne says:

    missed seeing you guys yesturday! hope

  3. carlieanne says:

    carlie pressed enter before I was quite done….anyways i was saying i hope all is well and you guys are enjoying your new adventure.

Leave a Reply

