It’s a real world with real people.

Posted: November 24, 2008 in Cool Stuff just for you

I’ve been thinking a lot about being genuine and full of integrity and character.  Those are big words, and not as easy to follow as they are to say.  Here is a great and convicting passage of scripture.

Philippians 2 (Message Bible)

1-4If you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care— then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep-spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.

I’ve been a believer now for over 23 years.  In that time I have met so many people that call themselves Christians but come up short by their own definition.  But you know, all of us come up short.  No matter what we claim, we all come up short because we are human, and we all suffer from the same disease called sin.  I think what I have seen over the years is that some people yield their lives deeper to Christ than others.  That is where being genuine and real come into play.

The attitude of understanding that withouut Christ in my thoughts and without seeking him on a daily basis I can think some nasty awful things, and do some not so nice actions.

When I am thankful that Jesus redeemed my soul and has a wonderful plan for my life, that is when I am real.  That is when I can’t put on a mask of superiority and arrogance.  That is when I can’t think of my self as worm or maggot.  When the reality of who God made me comes home, that is when it is right in the middle of the two extremes.  And when I’m abiding in Christ, with that knowledge, that is when I am sincere and real.  I don’t think too much of myself, and I don’t thing too little.

All that to say this:

Men and women will always dissapoint us.  Just face the facts.  Only Jesus has the best intentions for us.  He is the only one that isn’t even the remote bit selfish.  It is our job to do what scripture says- If we have been set free and we have received what Jesus has done for us, if he has made a difference in our lives, then we should support each other, agree with each other over the things that matter.  We shouldn’t be manipulating to get our own way and we should strive to be geniune deep spirited friends with one another.   Bottom line- forget about our own needs and love one another and by helping.

I have found that when I see glaring character flaws in people that claim to be Christian leaders, that even to this day it causes me to go into a tail spin.  It just shouldn’t be should it?  But then again, do I want the same spotlight put on my life as I do on others?  Probably not.  The lesson learned here is to not put men and women on the pedastal that I do Jesus.  That is also easier said than done.

I was telling Amy the other day, “It just isn’t right.  Something’s wrong when leaders are ok with backbiting and being mean.  Something is wrong when it’s ok to manipulate and use people”  I loved her answer.  She said, “you are right, there is something wrong-they’re human”  I’m not sure I liked her response, but she’s right.  For me, I’m going to try and do what scripture says.  I want to love people genuinely from my heart in the Lord.

I need to do less judging and more loving, regardless if they respond to me or ever even know what I think.

My prayer:

Lord let me always put you up as my example and who I can trust in.  You won’t eve let me down or hurt me. THANK YOU!  Help me to love those people that you have put in my life.  Help me to be as geniune and real as I possibly can.  Help me love people instead of use them.  Help me be a deep spirited friend that cares about the welfare of others.

In Jesus Name.  AMEN.

Comments
  1. tytanshammer says:

    I want to live in grace and love and mercy. I want to be a man of God, in hope,in life, in power and in the love of my brother. I want to move in the opposite spirit and see these times as an opportunity to shine………Oh God, help me to see it the way you see it and to shine with my brother like a light in the darkness.

Leave a Reply

