The Oyster House and What we learned today!

Posted: November 15, 2008 in Cool Stuff just for you

Well, today was a very interesting day.

I had a lot to do today.  The fun part of the day was recording the Ready Room podcast with Kenny and Jen.  That was so awesome.  Our coversation after we recorded was really good.  I am glad for good friends.  I know I’ve said that before.  But it’s so refreshing to have friends who can relate to my geekiness.  I was very encouraged by the fact that they are digging my new instrumental music.  You can listen to some of the new tracks by visiting my parody page and scrolling down to the bottom where the instrumental section is.  Please, listen and comment.   Click here for the page.

We had a couple of friends over in the afternoon, and then we left for Olympia to meet the Vandenhazels, the Gwins and the Brydon’s for church at Living Water.  It was a great service.  Josh led worship, and I really dig his band.  They are great!  Then afterwards we went to the Oyster House for dinner. 

oysterhousenightone

We had a very good dinner.  I had the Halibut fish and chips, Amy had a jalepeno chicken sandwhich and Catherine had a hamburger.  🙂  It was really yummy, and the fellowship was great too! 

oysterhousenighttwo

Then afterward we went across the street to the cool fountain.  I’m taking my good camera next week and getting some pictures of the capital building and the fountain.   It was way cool!

oysterhousenightthree

Ok, here are the ten things we learned today.

1.  (Rick)  Sleep is good if you can get enough of it.

2.  (Amy)  that Diana and I can make our own laundry soap for under two dollars a batch, each batch makes 360 loads worth.  Wow!

3.  (Rick)  that there are so many options available in life, that it’s sometimes hard to choose.

4.  (Amy)  that we tend to eat around the table more and play more board games together, that’s cool.

5.  (Rick)  that I don’t always understand God’s timing. I’m not sure we ever do in the middle of things.

6.  (Amy)  that when you get sad news, sometimes you need to be glad it’s not more sad.

7.  (Rick)  that Stripey is not happy with his zebra striped collar.  It denotes our ownership, and not the other way around. 🙂

8.  (Amy)  that Olympia has a really cool fountain that is even better than fireworks!

9.  (Rick)  there are other people in our church that like Trek too!  Cool!

10.  (Amy)  that it’s fun to spend the day with friends, but now I need to spend some hours with my pilow.  🙂

 

Ok, tomorrow.. How to cook the perfect Turkey, complete with pictorial recipe.  Wooo hooo!

Comments
  1. Vivian says:

    Good morning Rick,
    Thanks for your lesson learned on hurts. I often need to evaluate what I’ve done with hurts in my life. Mostly I stuff them. Thanks for the analogy, it will be a good reminder for me in dealing with hurts. You’ve been such a good friend over the years. It’s good to see a smile on your face and you having fun. I look forward to listening to your music later. (too many kids asleep right now)
    How do you make that laundry soap…..would love the recipe.

    Love,
    Viv

  2. Sherri says:

    Looks like you all had fun! We used to bring the kids all the way to Oly just to play in the fountain.
    Rebecca is really getting into going green by making her own products and is knitting dishcloths and washing her hair in soda.. and she’s loving it all.
    Don’t know what’s up with Bloglines but you just showed up with 54 posts after not showing all week!

Leave a Reply

