Snake Bites, Dinner at the Jone’s and what we learned today the 14th.

Posted: November 14, 2008 in Cool Stuff just for you

Hi this is Amy starting things out.  I had a revelation that I want to share.

snake_2-copy

Last night I was reading a book by Chester and Betsy Kylstra in preperation for our prayer time in Decemeber.  There was a parable about a man that had been bitten by a snake.  His friend encouraged him to go to the hospital in order to get the wound looked at.  But the man ran off into the woods in search for the snake so he could kill it.  Needles to say, without treatment, and soon, the man would die.  It is a powerful word picture.   While laying in bed this morning I got to thinking about the parable and how different my reaction to wounds has been.  I tend to withdraw.  But I got to thinking that the outcome is the same as the man who ran off into the woods.  I still wasn’t going after my healing, instead I was feeling sorry for myself, that someone would wound me.  It has been a very lonely pity part, I could send out invitations, but who would want to come?  Natural wounds, sometimes if you get a little scratch and you are basically healthy and have good hygiene you don’t have to do much about it.  It takes care of itself and heals on it’s own.  So spiritually a small wound might take a small amount of determination to get healed.  SOmetimes you can almost just brush it off.  Having a good spiritual immune system can chase off a few harmful bacteria.  And regular spriritual hygein, washing with the water of the word and forgiving should keep the infection out. 

Slightly deeper wounds are usually given a bit more care.  They need thorough washing, maybe add a little soap or peroxide to make sure it’s clean.  It probably needs antiboitic and a bandage to ensure that more bacteria don’t get in.  There are other wounds that are so deep that they need professional help.  Special stitching or bandaging may be required.  Sometimes we get spiritual wounds that are very deep.  usually by someone close to us.  Again we wash and we forgive, and we ask for the Holy Spirit’s help, but the wound is still there.  It may take a long time to heal, even if you do all the right things.  That’s ok.  My part is just to keep it clean, make sure that I keep out unforgiveness and bitterness, keep washing it with the word of God, keep seeking the wisdome of the Holy Spirit and if needed call on other believers to help bind up the wounds.  In time it will heal.  The main thing is not to attack or not to sit here feeling sorry for myself, but to do what I need to do, and trust God that he will do the rest.

**************************************

borg2

I wrote a new song today (this is Rick)  It’s another instrumental.  I call it the aftermath.  Take a listen.  Let me know what you think.

 

I went to the new James Bond Movie today.  I actually went to watch the Star Trek movie trailer.  I was going to leave after that but my kids prompted me to stay for the movie.  Geez.  🙂   The Star Trek Trailer was cool.  The Bond movie, was actually pretty decent.  Only a few parts in it that weren’t too family friendly.  There were a couple of swear words and the regular scantily clad ladies that accompany a bond flick.   It was surprisingly clean for a James Bond movie, the action was stunning.  The whole movie was like a work of art as far as the editing and music.  Pretty impressive if you are into that sort of thing.  Would I take little kids, no.  But my boys liked it.  Amy and Catherine stayed home on this one.  They don’t like that kind of movie.  🙂

*****************************************

We had dinner with Kevin and Hillary and their wonderful family tonight.  We had such a great time!  We got to play a cool game called quiddle.  IT was great.  I highly reccomend it, but make sure you have a dictionary around to look up the so called words your opponents come up with.  🙂  Dinner was great, and the fellowship and prayer time was very nice!  We love our friends.  It was fun to catch up on life together.

 

Ok, the Top ten things we learned today:

1.  (Amy)  that Joyce Meyer preaches good messages at 5:30 in the morning.

2. (Rick)  that the new Star Trek Trailer for movie 11 was AWESOME!

3. (Amy)  that if you get bit by a snake don’t attack or withdraw, go to the hospital.

4. (Rick)  that music inspired by the Holy Spirit is really cool.

5.  (Amy)  that Catherine really wants to go to Europe someday.

6.  (Rick) that while walking tonight my ipod crashed once again.  So, it’s time to get a new one.  oh boy!  Here we go Ipod touch 32 gig.  🙂

7.  (Amy)  I have more hope today.  (Thank you all for praying)

8.  (Rick)  I do too.  I just am resting in the fact that God knows our future and it’s good.

9. (Amy)  that it was fun to laugh and make baby Abbey smile when I played peek a boo with her.

10. (Rick) that home made frosting tastes better when you use real butter.

 

Ok there you go!  See you tomrrow!

Comments
  1. tytanshammer says:

    I have realized the same thing………the hermit thing makes you a target for the enemy………but you cannot go back and just get into work and get busy………you have to get healed first……..you have to do something….but not the same old thing as before…….and that is the difficult part…….learning to change…………..

Leave a Reply

