Garlic Baked Chicken, and what we learned today…

Posted: November 12, 2008 in Cool Stuff just for you

Today was a good day.  We were up early this morning getting ready for the day.  We had a pastor friend over to have lunch and talk today.  I made the following recipe.  You should try it.

GARLIC BAKED CHICKEN

Here is what you will need:

One whole chicken
Three cloves of Garlic
One sweet onion
Two Stalks of Celery
Seasoning Salt
Montreal Steak Seasoning

Take your whole chicken and place it in a baking dish, breast side up.  Cut your stalks of celery into four or five chunks, and your onion into quarters.  Then peel your garlic cloves and cut in half.   Take half of the onion and all the garlic plus two or three of the cerely stalks and stuff into the cavity of the chicken.  Then sprinkle the seasoning salt and steak seasoning on the top of the bird.  Here is what it should look like:

I took a few baker potatoes and cut the ends off, and put them in the oven at the same time.  I baked it for 50 – 60 minutes at 375.  

Then out of the oven it should look something like this:

I then cut it up and put it on a plate, after removing the onion and celery from the cavity, I placed that on the plate as well.  The meat turned out very moist!

I served it with some steamed brocolli that my wife so wonderfully prepared. 

The table was pretty.  Thank you Amy.

Ok, here we go… the top ten things we learned today!

1.  (Rick)  Preparing food is not only fun, but rewarding.

2.  (Amy)  Rick also cooks a mean chicken. 🙂

3.  (Rick)  that God believes in the call he has placed on my life.

4.  (Amy)  that we need a bigger house for all of Rick’s recording equipment.

5.  (Rick)  that I am seeing the folks at UPX a lot these days, what with all the requests for the Trekmas CD.

6.  (Amy)  that Proverbs is a really great book in the Bible. 

7.  (Rick)  that I love my wife.

8.  (Amy)  I love my husband.  (rick’s note, she better)

9.  (Rick)  that I’m looking forward to getting into Luke tomorrow.

10.  (Amy)  that Ezekiel is kind of a freaky book.  I wonder what the wheel within a wheel was?

Ok, enjoy the recipe, and we’ll see you tomorrow!

Comments
  1. Sherri says:

    You make me hungry every night before I go to bed.

  2. Rhianna says:

    What I learned today: That I need to learn to cook like you do! 🙂

  3. Meds says:

    Thats some mighty fine looking chicken my friend. Another meal to master for the wife. 🙂

Leave a Reply

