Fickle and Furry

Posted: October 29, 2008 in Cool Stuff just for you

This morning I was checking my email and starting to wake up when I felt this odd furry and tickly sensation on my leg.  Yes, it was Stripey my cat.  Now  you have to understand that he NEVER comes to me, I always have to go to him.  It’s not a mutual relationship.  It never is when a cat is involved.  They aren’t like dogs.  Dogs jump up and down if you enter the room, even if you only been gone a few minutes.  They greet  you at the door, they want to be with you.  Cats could care less, unless it’s on their terms.

So knowing this was a rare occurence I picked him up and put him on my lap.  He began to purr.  He sat down and nudged me.  WOW.  So I took advantage of the situation and quit typing.  I held him, stoked his fur and scratched his ears.  He kept purring and actually sat there for a good 15 minutes.  MIRACLES never cease.    I mean, you would think that the little fella would be grateful for his life.  We feed him, give him treats, let him drink our cereal milk, let him crash out in various places in the house, protect him, etc.  But no.  His affection is on his terms, and his alone.  We may provide all that he needs, but in his arrogance he pokes his nose in the air and thinks he “owns” us, not the other way around.   He is so fickle.  I later found out that his food bowl was empty.  He just wanted food, and would tolerate me for a few minutes to get what he wanted.

You know where this is leading don’t you?

God showed me very clearly that I am so much like a cat.  I’m fickle at times.   Isn’t it sad that after all God provides for me, including his presence, that I at times choose to put my nose in the air and do what I want, not even aknowleging him?  I don’t want to have a relationship with Jesus that is on MY terms.  That’s like straightarming Jesus.  Who would want to do that? 

I just loved holding my cat this morning and stroking his soft fur and hearing him purr loudly.  The little nudging made me think he cared about me!  Imagine wht God wants.  He loves it so much when we sit on his lap and simply let him comfort us.  He wan’ts to communicate and he wants to love on us, it is we that don’t let him.

So I guess I have a choice.  I can either snuggle up to Jesus or I can live an independant supposedly self sufficient life.  My choice.  

My prayer-  Help me Lord not to be fickle with you.  I don’t want to miss those times of communication and comfort with you.  I want you to know how grateful I am for your provision and love for me.  THANK YOU for all you do and have done, and will do.  I love you.  If I could purr, I would.  In Jesus name,  Amen.

Comments
  1. Hey! You are so right in your analogy about your cat. How many times do we come to God expecting care when we havent put any effort into knowing Him. The great thing is that He’s always there, waiting to love on us, and not “push us off the couch”. And how much deeper will our relationship with Him go if we do study Him and His word, it’s a challenge, but so worth it! More than you can possibly imagine!

  2. Marlene says:

    Good analogy….God is so good at showing us how we can go deeper with Him. I love it when that happens.

  3. emilyp says:

    Loved reading your lesson. I love it when things suddenly are so clear. Like God just pops that little thought in your head and everything makes sense. He sure is good at giving us what we need when we need it huh.

Leave a Reply

