What are we afraid of?

Posted: October 20, 2008 in Cool Stuff just for you

 

In my quest of being geniune and real I sometimes come to hard places, forks in the road.  It is much easier to fake through things than to hit them head on and be responsible for them.  You know?   Once you jump off of the diving board there is no turning back.  I can’t stop the forward motion once I’ve let go and am sailing toward the water.  To do so would require a suspension of physics, which I don’ t believe God does for us very often.  Especially when we lose nerve after we have been bold enough to step out.  I read this passage in the Message Bible and I was cut to the core.

Matthew 7:13-20

13“Don’t look for shortcuts to God. The market is flooded with surefire, easygoing formulas for a successful life that can be practiced in your spare time. Don’t fall for that stuff, even though crowds of people do. 14The way to life—to God!—is vigorous and requires total attention.

15“Be wary of false preachers who smile a lot, dripping with practiced sincerity. Chances are they are out to rip you off some way or other. Don’t be impressed with charisma; look for character. 16-20Who preachers are is the main thing, not what they say. A genuine leader will never exploit your emotions or your pocketbook. These diseased trees with their bad apples are going to be chopped down and burned.

 

It’s in my nature to look for shortcuts.  I don’t want to feel pain, I don’t want to be inconvenienced.  It is uncomfortable for me.  Notice any patterns there?  Me, me, me….  Gee whiz.  The fact is that if I am going be sold out to Christ, I need to be all the way, not just half hazard.  In fact it is the half hazard stuff that gets me in trouble. 

I read the part about being beware of the pastors that are fake and acting.  It’s so easy to just go with what is rehearsed, but it doesn’t bring life.  It is entertaining and it scratches the itch, but it does nothing long term. It’s instant gratification, but later, I am left hungry again.  I don’t want to be a guy that preaches and teaches for my ego, gain or position.  I want to be sincere.  REAL, GENUINE, HONEST.  I know I am not perfect, in fact I am reminded every hour of my human frality and compromise, but my desire is to live real, faults and all before God and others.  I don’t want to exploit others in the name of my religion.  I want to offer life with Christ, real, true life.  

To do that, I must be clear on what my place is.  Am I simply trying to get what I want?  Notches on my bible?  Or am I being a vessel for God to use and speak through?  Good question.  One that I am seeking today. 

One way I am using God, the other, God is using me. 

 

wow.  So what are we afraid of?  Being real may hurt us, but it only helps others.

 

I’m not sure what my day holds today.  It is hard to let go of what I am used too.  I just want to hear God’s voice today. 

 

Thanks for reading.

 

Comments
  1. Vickie says:

    “One way I am using God, the other, God is using me” Wow, that is thought provoking and challenging! Love reading the adventures and journey of the Moyers. Thanks for being so real. God is good all the time and has great things in store. Enjoy the journey!

  2. Sherri says:

    I just realized that I hadn’t added you to my Bloglines so I have gotten behind in reading your adventures. Will remedy that now. I did get caught up on it all. It’s great to see what you’re hearing during this time. I’m glad you enjoyed your time in Oly and that Amy got to go to the ladies’ night out. We do plan to go to a Sat. night service soon, but i have to leave the shop early to do it, kind of a bummer.

  3. Sherri says:

    ps Very strange. You are on my Bloglines but it isn’t picking up your feed. 😦

Leave a Reply

