Move over Psychic Network… here’s Jesus.

Posted: October 16, 2008 in Cool Stuff just for you


A cool little flower outside my office

Good morning.

When I was younger I was intrested in psychic phenomena.  Ever since I can remember I was in love with the supernatural.  So you can imagine that when I started exploring a relationship with Christ that I was going to discover the ultimate in “Spirit” world information.  I thought, “Well, if heaven and hell are real, if demons exist and there is something to “another” realm, then there must be some type of authority on it.  Of course the oldest most reliable book on the supernatural is the Bible.  So that is what I started to look at.  I figured if God created everything, surely He knew how it all worked.  And I was right.  The moment I gave my life over to Jesus Christ I knew some things would be answered. 

It is simply a fact that God give the ability to some to discern situations from the past, present and future.  This is called being “Prophetic”.  Yeah, like as in prophet.   I don’t know how it all works, but I do know that God does.  At times he gives us glimpses of where we have been, where we are now, and where we are headed.  I love that.  He knows us better than we know oursleves.   The nice part about God giving us insight into our future is that there are no bad side effects.  I mean when you rely on psychics or demonic junk, it costs you.  Not only do you have to pay money, but you open yourself up to a whole bunch of stuff you later wish you hadn’t.  The dark arts, the negative spiritual world is not a picnic, and it requires your soul in the long run.  God does too, but in a good way.  I would rather associate with a God that loves me and has a great plan for my life than a god, with a little “g” that hates me and wants to screw me up. 

 A couple of years ago I signed up for this email list.  Thousands of people get the same email everyday from a couple out of Texas who love the Lord.  Every day, they just ask the Lord to give them something.  They write it down, jot down the scripture that prompted them and send it out to all these people.  Somehow God uses this email to encourage me, rebuke  me and set me straight on a weekly basis.  It’s like they are a fly on the wall.  But really, it is God.  I mean, you always have to judge things through the Bible and make sure that you are not out in whacky land, but so far, at least 80 percent of what I get each morning applies directly to me.  At least it gets my thoughts on Jesus, and I have to dig in to the scripture to confirm or deny what God is telling me.

All that to say this:  From time to time you will see me referring to these emails.  I don’t worship them, I worship Jesus, and I want to stress that it is much better to bump stuff like this off of live people that you live with and breath with each day.  I send them to my wife and my friend Kenny H just to make sure I’m not off my rocker.  So take it for what it’s worth. This is a husband and wife team- he usually writes first,and then his wife writes. 

Here is what I got today:

October 16, 2008.  You need healing. By His stripes you are healed. A former pastor of ours spoke this way about the healing Christ has done for us. He said, “It is like we have a canister or spray can of healing inside of us for use when sickness and disease come for a visit.” Sometimes, we have to consciously, by our confession, possess our healing which is already done and available. You can right now reach inside and release and receive God’s provision of healing. Do it now through believing God’s word and then confessing what you have believed. Your healing will surely manifest. And when it does, you can give all the glory to God, thanking Him openly. You need healing.
1 Peter 2:24 “He personally carried away our sins in his own body on the cross so we can be dead to sin and live for what is right. You have been healed by his wounds!”  

This is so true.  I have been going to a Christian counselor for two years.  She really has been used by God to open my heart up to some very good things for me.  I have had some MAJORhealing in my life from the insecurity of the past.  I have learned to run to Jesus instead of food, and in the process become more active, lost 86 pounds and feel way better. But now with people questioning the calling and placement of my ministry and life, I find that I have some hurts over how people have treated me.  No one likes it when they feel rejected.  The most hurtful thing ever is to not be accepted for who you are and what you feel you are called to do in this life.  I’m not sure if we will ever be all the way healed from life’s scars and circumstances.  It’s what makes us human.  Life knocks us around, and it is a process.  So I do need healing.  I need to rest in the arms of Christ and let him speak to me.  He loves me, and he believes in the call on my life.  Besides Jesus, my wife is the only other person that knows me so well.  I have given both of them to permission to be completely honest with me.  I trust jesus and Amy to see things in me that I can’t.  So I am open Lord to being healed from the feelings of rejection.  Show me my path and lead me to my destiny!  And forgive me for hurting others along the way.  I want to help heal others too.  You are my hope.

October 16, 2008.  You have had occasional thoughts that no one knows about or cares about you. That is absolutely not true. I have made assignments in the world to connect people with each other. That is a part of My way to spread love throughout the world. At this time you need to think back over the years, and remember the people that have touched your life, those who have built you up, and those you encouraged. Remember with thankfulness those times and people with whom you have felt connected. I respond so readily to thankfulness. Thankfulness is good for mind and body. Thankfulness causes all sorts of good phenomena within the body.
Psalms 100:4-5 Enter His gates with thanksgiving And His courts with praise. Give thanks to Him, bless His name. 5For the LORD is good; His lovingkindness is everlasting And His faithfulness to all generations.  

Here we go again.  Why is it that we are so selfish sometimes?  I suspect I know the answer to that, but don’t have time to jump into it all.  Maybe later.  Suffice it to say that all of us enjoy a good Pity Party from time to time.  “No one understands me, they don’t love me!”  Have you ever said that?  I have, and sometimes every day for a few weeks.  But it’s just not true.  I have a choice to look at things in a negative or positive way.  God has put many friends in my life.  Who am I listening too?  And are the people who I am letting influence me really for me?  Or is something else going on?  I have always been of the thought that either your friends celebrate you or tolerate you.  I want to hang with folks that celebrate each other.  Celebrate the uniqueness and the giftings of each of each other’s personalities and roles in life.  All that to say- I am not alone.  

My attitude should be one of thankfulness for the different people he has conected me with over the years.  Each one of those folks have shaped and influenced me to be who I am today.  We all go through seasons when we don’t have many of those folks in our life, but there are other times when we are bombarded with help and people that understand.  So my role is to roll with the punches and keep my attitude straight.  No feeling sorry for myslef, that is not helping anything.  I choose to follow God and not let myself descend into negative living.  I choose Jesus and those believers and non-belivers that he sends into my life to be on the journey with me.

I’m headed up to go to a meeting with some pastors who love Jesus.  they have invited me to spend some time just hanging out with them as they seek God.  So, with my time off I figure that is a good thing to do.  So I’m headed to Olypia this morning.  Pray for me, as I am praying for many of you.

This morning I will be listening to 1st Samuel on my ipod as I travel.  I am looking forward to hearing God in it.

bless you!


Picture from 4th of July

Leave a Reply

