Waken with purpose

Posted: October 13, 2008 in Cool Stuff just for you

3Your old life is dead. Your new life, which is your real life—even though invisible to spectators—is with Christ in God. He is your life. 4When Christ (your real life, remember) shows up again on this earth, you’ll show up, too—the real you, the glorious you. Meanwhile, be content with obscurity, like Christ.- Colossians 3:3&4

I suspect that I will eventually be able to sleep a full eight hours again.  I know that will come in time.  🙂  This morning at about 6 or so I rolled over and became aware of how easy it is for me as a man to derive my worth from WHAT I do, now WHO I am.  I know there have been studies about all this, but for me it became real and thought provoking.  It is so easy after a period of time to become what I do.  The problem with this is that when I don’t do it, I have an identity crisis.   
My friend, Kenny from California , and I were Skyping the other day about this.  He works in the entertainment industry and his jobs only last for periods of time, then he moves to another one.  His latest project was “America’s toughest jobs” So he makes all these friends and then has to move on every so often.  It’s emotional and not easy, but we talked about who we really were, and how that is more important than what we do.  Which it is.

For me, I gave my heart to Christ over 23 years ago now.  I know the Bible says that when we do that, we become a new creation.  So my identity is really wrapped up in Jesus, not what I do.  Jesus has influenced all that I do, from how I treat people to what I have chosen to do as a profession.  There came a time in my life that I was at a fork in the road, and I chose to go God’s way.  It certainly hasn’t been easy.  But I am grateful for the life lesson journey that I am on.  When all is said and done, it  isn’t the work we did that matters anyway, it’s the lives we’ve touched and the relationships we have fostered that count.  Early last year I felt impressed to not be other people’s savior, but to lead them to one.  And so that is my life- a grateful person that hopes others will come to know Jesus like I know him, as my friend and savior.

In Matthew Chapter one it covers the lineage of Christ.  I know many people who just skip over that section with all the “and so and so begot so and so, etc.”  but you know, the cool part about chapter one is that it shows that the family heritage of Jesus was a melting pot of humanity sparked by the divine.  That’s why Jesus can identify with every person on the face of the Earth.  He isn’t exclusive to the snobby, or the rich, or the simply the humble and the poor.  He is everyone’s savior.  WOW.  He is my identity.  I’m all wrapped up in Him.

Today in my reading I am tackling Matthew Chapter 2, and 1st Samuel 2.  Should be good.

I got this in a devotional email this morning….

 Romans 12:17-18 “Never pay
back evil for evil to anyone. Respect what is right in the sight of
all men.  If possible, so far as it depends on you, be at peace with
all men.”
 

They went on to write:

You are disturbed over some decisions that have
been made.  You don’t know all of the events that led up to the
division which has occurred.  If you knew you would have more
understanding and see why this happened.  It is hard for you to see
why everyone can’t be at peace with each other.  Some understanding
will come as time passes, and you learn more, but complete
understanding will never fully come.  This is where you especially
need to trust in Me and those in authority.  They had seen this
coming for quite awhile and were trying to bring unity.  But it
takes all parties to be in agreement.

 

That was sure good.  Lord, let me love people like you do.  Let me be grace-full towards everyone I come in contact with today.  Please let me rest in who I am, not what I do.  Amen.

Comments
  1. tytanshammer says:

    Being Still is something God started with me when I was 17…..and it was hard to sit there in his presence doing nothing when my body was screaming out ‘do something!’ You find out very quickly where you place your value……and how God is taking away everything you put your value in but Himself…….and how he’s calling you to BE and not necessarily to DO. But that is hard….because you want to be like everyone else, but God doesn’t really want you to be like everyone else………He wants you to be His.

Leave a Reply

